A LOSS OF INNOCENCE

I don’t like the word “innocent”. The word implies naivety, I find that quite offencive. A young child/baby perhaps, or someone who is not guilty obviously.

But not me, don’t call me innocent.

It’s the same as being called stupid in today’s terms. Which is a shame for the word itself as it has a negative connotation, it’s actually quite insulting.

I think sometimes words need re-evaluating to see where they belong nowadays, and the word “innocent” has lost itself, if you’re called innocent it’s because they don’t think you understand or you’re not in on the joke.

You make GOOD choices and so now you’re “innocent”.  Someone calls you “innocent” because you don’t drink excessively or do drugs, it makes no sense. To be belittled for respecting yourself is absolutely ridiculous and the way the word is used in such a patronising and condescending manner infuriates me.

I don’t want to get rid of “innocent” but I think it needs to stop being used to call people stupid in an oddly socially acceptable way.

It’s ‘cool’ to smoke and drink underage, those who don’t are “innocent”, but I disagree, they just made a different choice.

I hope I’m not the only one who feels this way, I’ve had some strong opinions on this since my attention was drawn to it when I got labeled as “innocent” 😂 – by a girl who’s a year younger than me that smokes weed – personal choice and that’s fine – But never have I had the urge to snap at someone so much, I could’ve stood there for an hour explaining why I don’t appreciate what she said, but never mind.😂😂

 

 


Leave a comment